Ends on

We are now accepting submissions for the Permafrost 2023 Poetry Book Prize.

Since 2014, Permafrost Magazine has held an Annual Book Prize contest for the best manuscript (genre alternating each year). The winner of the contest receives $1000.00 and publication through the University of Alaska Press. Each year, the book prize genre alternates through poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.


The winner will receive $1,000 and publication of their manuscript through the University of Alaska Press.


We welcome manuscripts from all writers writing in English. We will not consider manuscripts that have already been published elsewhere including self-published works. We do accept simultaneous submissions, but please notify us immediately if your manuscript is accepted elsewhere. No past or present student or paid employee of the University of Alaska Fairbanks is eligible to enter. Affiliates of UAF and their spouses are not eligible for entry.

When to Submit:

We will begin accepting submissions on November 15, 2022 with a deadline of 11:59 p.m., Alaska Standard Time, March 15, 2023.


All entries will be read anonymously. Please ensure that the author’s name does not appear on the manuscript.

We accept only electronic submissions through our Submittable page.

Entry Fee:

There is a $20 entry fee to submit your manuscript to the contest.


We are very excited to announce that Aimee Nezhukumatathil will judge our 2023 Book Prize in Poetry.

Aimee Nezhukumatathil (neh-ZOO / KOO-mah / tah-TILL) is the author of the New York Times best-selling illustrated collection of nature essays and Kirkus Prize finalist, World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks, & Other Astonishments (2020, Milkweed Editions), which was chosen as Barnes and Noble’s Book of the Year. She has four previous poetry collections: Oceanic (Copper Canyon Press, 2018), Lucky Fish (2011), At the Drive-In Volcano (2007), and Miracle Fruit (2003), the last three from Tupelo Press.  Her most recent chapbook is Lace & Pyrite, a collaboration of epistolary garden poems with the poet Ross Gay. Her writing appears twice in the Best American Poetry Series, The New York Times Magazine, ESPN, Ploughshares, American Poetry Review, and Tin House. Honors include a poetry fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Pushcart Prize, a Mississippi Arts Council grant, and being named a Guggenheim Fellow in poetry. In 2021, she became the first-ever poetry editor for Sierra magazine, the story-telling arm of The Sierra Club. She is professor of English and Creative Writing in the University of Mississippi’s MFA program. 

See winners from previous years:


Please address inquiries to the editors at UAF-permafrostmag@alaska.edu.

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.